WhatsApp parent announced its intent to upgrade all its platforms with ephemeral messages that have already featured on the likes of Instagram and Facebook’s Messenger — WhatsApp will receive this tweak soon. The social media company is debuting self-erase media and texts on the quick message app — this feature is called “view once” on WhatsApp that deletes contents after a view, Techbooky writes.
Conforming to Facebook’s announcement, View Once rolls out today exclusive for WhatsApp beta testers for android users. This feature appears to be simplified, its icon displays as a timer in the caption input field. Once you observe this dedicated timer icon on your WhatsApp — it means you are selected by WhatsApp developers to test the response of this tweak.
For contrast, WhatsApp’s newly View Once is closely related to “Disappearing Messages” that deletes contents after seven days once it is activated. However, View Once mode will reportedly erase either images or videos sent via this quick erase mode. After your message has been viewed, you will be notified — which means your message has been deleted successfully.
WhatsApp’s new pack of privacy features appears to be finite — Techbooky suggests you understand how this feature works before utilizing this tool. It worth noting that deactivating “Read Receipts” on WhatsApp does not block your notification after your View Once enabled message has been viewed.
For contrast, a disabled read receipt will only notify your View Once enabled message has been opened but the blue tick will not reveal the recipient who checked your message. The same function is also applicable to groups — you will get notified about group members who viewed your message, while disabled read receipt serves its purpose.
A message that has View Once enabled, does not restrict users from capturing screenshots. Still, you will be notified that the recipient did capture a screenshot — neither does a screenshot stops a message from deleting. WhatsApp’s View Once will function accordingly if the recipient does not have this feature on their app.
While Android users test the response of this feature, it will be available for iOS users sooner when it is fully developed, according to WhatsApp’s report. However, Facebook hinted this feature will roll out with WhatsApp’s next privacy update — this update has reportedly been delayed due to complexity in comprehending the concept of the new WhatsApp policy. I
Several users have purportedly shied away from the quick message app joining other messaging platforms such as Telegram, while WhatsApp declared its services will be limited for users who disregard its new policy. Facebook’s ephemeral concept aims to protect intimate and confidential conversations.